We were sitting in a meeting and all of a sudden I had the urge to spout out some development jargon about partnerships, ownership, meaningful participation and at the end, when all in the room looked either a little confused, maybe somewhat inspired or worried for my sanity, I thought….where did that all come from?

 

I have found a medium to express all the college learning and it will take time until I know if it will make sense in reality. So far, the sentiments of the partners I am working with are real and meaningful. This means a lot. But, at the end of the day, it is the practice that will truly test the knowledge. Our ideas can diverge and our motivations are not always the same- the true power of negotiation will be tested in the following months.

 

This is a great opportunity to learn from others, to work within an organizational culture that might diverge from my personal beliefs and learn how to do the best given certain situations and initially challenging partnerships. I am not yet willing to let go of my ideals when it comes to development but I am willing to have these ideals tested in the reality of my current context.

 

Anna Guiney

UNV UNICEF Nepal

Water, Sanitation and Hygiene (WASH) section as Assistant Project Officer

2 responses »

  1. Rosaleen says:

    Enjoyed reading this Anna – good for reality and theory to come together, and it’s good to meet people with different views! By the way, I LOVE the acronym WASH – very clever.

  2. Anna says:

    Thanks Rosaleen- it was a brief moment of inspiration!! Yes, WASH is a great acronym 🙂 Hope you’re doing well? I believe you have been having great celebrations recently with buckets of water etc. Sounds like a great laugh!

Leave a Reply

